What’s the Best Piece of Professional Advice You’ve Ever Received?

Adrian S. Potter
2 min readMar 5, 2023

My answer actually surprised me.

Photo by frame harirak on Unsplash

Looking back, I have been lucky in my career.

Many folks I know have had nothing but piles of overbearing micromanagers and strict bosses littering the landscape of their work lives.

Sure, I have seen my share of pieces of professional garbage during my years, but I have also been blessed to learn from quite a few great leaders, skilled negotiators, and motivational influencers.

So recently, when a person that I mentor asked, “What’s the best piece of professional advice you’ve ever received,” I had to genuinely pause and ponder.

My answer actually surprised me.

It may seem cliché, but the whole “under-promise and overdeliver” mantra has helped me immensely.

Sometimes it can be effective to slow-play your capabilities and give your supervisors and clients more than they hoped for at critical points of a project or task. If you can mold their expectations at those milestones, you can make yourself shine.

When you deliver more than what you suggested to a client and something above what they anticipated, the perceived value of your ability or product increases. However, you often lose credibility if you overpromise and fall…

--

--

Adrian S. Potter

Antisocial Extrovert · Writer and Poet, Engineer, Consultant, Public Speaker · Writing about self-improvement, gratitude, and creativity · www.adrianspotter.com