Walking the Tightrope

Adrian S. Potter
4 min readApr 6, 2024

Choose to lead with humility, confidence, and authenticity.

Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

People inherently fixate on the negatives in life. Because of this, I, like most folks, am more apt to recall moments when I have witnessed subpar leadership over rock-solid coaching.

But if I reflect long enough, I can remember past soundbites from effective leaders that stuck with me.

“I may not have all the answers, but together, we can find the best solution.” I remember a humble supervisor saying this, inviting collaboration amongst our group while freely acknowledging their limitations.

“I believe in our team’s abilities, and I am confident we can overcome any obstacle.” I can attribute this to a coach in high school, but the statement exemplifies a confident leader inspiring trust and resilience in their team’s capabilities.

“Let me share a personal experience that relates to what we are facing right now.” An authentic leader connects with their team through genuine storytelling and vulnerability. It goes beyond “trading war stories” or having “bitch sessions,” but instead infuses a positive message that helps teams understand that others have faced and conquered similar challenges — this may be tough, but it can be overcome.

Navigating the complexities of leadership with humility, confidence, and authenticity is…

--

--

Adrian S. Potter

Antisocial Extrovert · Writer and Poet, Engineer, Consultant, Public Speaker · Writing about self-improvement, gratitude, and creativity · www.adrianspotter.com