Stop Dragging Your Confidence Through the Mud

Adrian S. Potter
2 min readMay 15, 2022

Choose a cleaner approach.

Photo by Eleanor Jane: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-in-black-tank-top-holding-a-mirror-4624527/

Sometimes, during the heat of life’s battles, I say nasty things. To myself. About myself.

If I send an email with an obvious typo, I may call myself a dumbass. Or worse.

Or if I blow an easy layup playing pickup basketball, I mutter vile things about my ability under my breath, despite having made a litany of contested shots.

And, at times, I put myself through hell for minor mistakes or forgetting appointments.

Perhaps you’re guilty of this self-sabotaging behavior, too.

But mistakes and questionable decisions occur in life. These things happen when you ditch the comfort zone or pursue lofty goals.

We all have flaws, areas where we need improvement, and aspects of our personalities or appearances that make us feel insecure and frustrated. But we can’t let those things drag our confidence through the mud. Seriously.

Choose to take a cleaner, more friendly approach. Our missteps do not define us — unless we allow them to.

Photo by Jack Sharp on Unsplash

--

--

Adrian S. Potter

Antisocial Extrovert · Writer and Poet, Engineer, Consultant, Public Speaker · Writing about self-improvement, gratitude, and creativity · www.adrianspotter.com