Say These Eleven Words to Yourself Each Morning

Adrian S. Potter
3 min readFeb 17, 2024

They will help you get your shit together.

Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

The Secondhand Inspiration Project begins with a motivational quote and ventures wherever the creative path meanders.

Ramana Maharishi was an Indian spiritual teacher and sage known for his teachings on self-inquiry. He experienced a profound spiritual awakening at 16, after which he left home to live on the sacred hill of Arunachala.

Renouncing worldly pursuits, he devoted his life to meditation and guiding seekers toward self-realization. He advocated the practice of “Who am I?” inquiry to realize one’s true nature beyond the ego. His teachings emphasized the unity of all existence and the importance of inner peace.

Maharishi’s profound wisdom continues to inspire spiritual seekers worldwide.

If you read my articles, this would normally be where I drop in some awesome quotable and break down the motivation you could glean from it. But I feel the need to pause and mention something on a personal level.

As a recovering control freak, this statement became a mantra for me to take a more mindful approach in my life and interactions with friends, loved ones, and coworkers. For more than a year, my morning ritual was to say these eleven words to myself in the mirror to press the reset button every…

--

--

Adrian S. Potter

Antisocial Extrovert · Writer and Poet, Engineer, Consultant, Public Speaker · Writing about self-improvement, gratitude, and creativity · www.adrianspotter.com