Don’t Let Change Be Your Excuse for Not Changing

Adrian S. Potter
3 min readApr 14, 2024

Act now.

Photo by Eden Constantino on Unsplash

Stop me if you heard any variations of these before.

“I want to travel the world, but I’m just so comfortable in my routine job, afraid to leave behind the stability I know.”

“ I need to break up with my toxic partner, but the fear of being alone and starting over is paralyzing me.”

“I’ve been talking about starting my own business for years, but I’m too scared to take the leap and leave the security of my current job.”

“I need to lose weight, but I’m afraid of starting to go to the gym with everyone else watching.”

Yes, the idea of change can indeed be used as an excuse for avoiding actual change.

It’s like a comfy old sweater we wrap ourselves in to avoid the discomfort of stepping out into the cold unknown. Here’s how this happens and some strategies to combat it:

1. Fear of the Unknown

--

--

Adrian S. Potter

Antisocial Extrovert · Writer and Poet, Engineer, Consultant, Public Speaker · Writing about self-improvement, gratitude, and creativity · www.adrianspotter.com