Action Trumps Overthinking

Adrian S. Potter
3 min readOct 4, 2021

How a Bruce Lee quote reminds me that progress beats contemplation.

Photo by Emir Kaan Okutan from Pexels

The Secondhand Inspiration Project begins with a motivational quote and ventures wherever the creative path meanders.

Bruce Lee was more than a martial artist, cultural icon, and movie star. He was also a student of life and a purveyor of wisdom.

One of his quotes sticks in my mind like a scientific formula that I memorized for a high school midterm.

“If you spend too much time thinking about a thing, you’ll never get it done.”

I have treated this Bruce Lee quote like it’s a law of physics for my life goals.

Each endeavor begins with a thought. But if all I do is think, I will never take that idea from conception to completion.

I have ridden the analysis paralysis roller coaster countless times. But just because I’ve been a frequent rider doesn’t mean I’d recommend it. A brilliant idea arrives but then overthinking follows, pushing me into a cycle of oscillating motivation that inevitably tosses water onto my initial fire.

--

--

Adrian S. Potter

Antisocial Extrovert · Writer and Poet, Engineer, Consultant, Public Speaker · Writing about self-improvement, gratitude, and creativity · www.adrianspotter.com